Author Topic: can supergrub help me get to a Windows dual-pane file manager recognizing USB ?  (Read 6956 times)

Offline Steven Avery

Hi,

Supergrub newbie here, please bear with.  I have a Dell Precision 380 with XP (SP3) that glitched out, the OS startup aborts to a BSOD, by a kdcom.dll , perhaps a video driver that is hard to fix directly.  (This may have been malware as it occurred after a Paltalk session where my anti-virus noticed stuff happening.)

Supergrub is on the system, and boots fine.  However, I am not sure if it has any utilities that really match my direct need.  If it can call a file manager program on a CD (or USB) then it would definitely help.

Later, I will probably try to use my Windows XP CDs to reinstall the XP OS, either a full format or a non-destructive.  (I do have some early images, after the OS was reinstalled about 2-3 years ago, so I may try to go that route if I find that I have to format destruct.  I would not mind that type of clean reinstall anyway, after saving the files.)

First, I would like to copy the files on the disk to a backup drive connected by USB.   BART-PE and/or Win-PE is often used for this, but I know I once did it with a much simpler method using a rescue CD that actually had Free Commander.  There seems to be complications in trying to go with BART-PE or WinPE, although this is supposed to be one of their strengths (late file backup).

I did load a few rescue CDs, UBCD 4 and 5 had a file manager named Volker, (and some others) and the Avast Rescue CD has Midnight Commander.  All quite cryptic, and I would like to use something a little friendlier, Windows-savvy that is easy to copy to the USB drive.   Although if you think one of those is really kewl, share away, I will try.